copy-image.jpgThe Inter-Regional Meeting of the Bishops of Southern Africa, IMBISA, is an organ of liaison and pastoral cooperative between Episcopal Conferences of Southern Africa consists of 9 countries in 6 Episcopal Conferences.


The Mission of IMBISA is to foster the spirit of communion within the Universal Church.


The Conferences which make up IMBISA are the Episcopal Conference of Angola and São Tome & Principe (CEAST), Lesotho Catholic Bishops’ Conference (LCBC), Mozambique Catholic bishops’ Conference (CEM), Namibia Catholic Bishops Conference (NCBC), Southern Africa Catholic Bishops which is made up of Botswana, South Africa and Swaziland (SACBC) and Zimbabwe Catholic Bishops’ Conference (ZCBC).

The Region has 78 ecclesiastical territories (Archdioceses and Dioceses) and 101 Bishops. At the moment IMBISA is the only Regional Conference that is made up of two language groups, that is English and Portuguese.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s